Options

Switching careers, will Masters be enough to do it?

jakevsnakejakevsnake Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Long story short, I am retired military with 21 yrs of aviation experience as an Avionics technician. I received my BS in Aeronautics w/Management & Safety minor with Embry-Riddle. Due to physical limitations related to service connected disabilities I can no longer perform many of the jobs I did in the past. I was an avid programmer back in HS (1990) but life events took me a different direction. I am working with the VA trying to use Vocational Rehab to send me back to school for an IT degree. I would love to do software development. My current job is a contractor position with the government doing software integration and testing for military applications. My technical background in the Navy is what opened the door for me, but I know this will not be enough to seek employment outside my current position.

I am working on a Plan A and Plan B for Voc Rehab. Plan A would be getting a BS in Software Development and Plan B would be getting a Masters in Information Systems Management with a focus in Information System Tools (C++, Java, VB, Advanced VB). The VA has expressed a concern that I already have my Bachelors (even in an unrelated field) and may push me to a Masters. The question I have is, will this be enough to open doors to employment? I deal with software developers in my current job and have to validate requirements and assist with technical documentation. I also develop test points and procedures and create SARs (software anomaly reports). I work as a part of a bigger team which also interacts with the hardware side of things as well.

I really just need some direction and input on how I can achieve my goal with follow on education. I have to explain to the VA how my desired degree plan will position me for a real chance at employment once it is completed. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options