Ideas for jobs at don't require full time hours? More like 30 hours a week?

supportmonkeysupportmonkey Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am relatively fresh to the IT field. I have about 2 years experience, primarily doing tech support. So far just an A+ and Net+ cert, but probably pursuing a CCNA. (Though I really don't think I want to be a cisco guy, I just want it for the prestige, and already have a good deal of network experience). My experience in those 2 years is pretty broad, troubleshooting a wide range of issues at the business/government level down to home user level, and troubleshooting a broad range of different types of network applications, technologies, and protocols.

It seems like it was a pretty good entry level stepping stone, but I'm looking to gain a couple more certs and move up. My biggest goal of all is work/life balance and overall quality of life. 40 hours a week, aka 11 hours a day when lunch and commute is factored in is just not a quality lifestyle for me, especially when I have a few hours worth of responsibilities each day outside of work as well.

Anyone have any ideas for good positions to pursue that don't generally require a full 40 hours? Something more along the line of 30 hours give or take? Or else jobs that in some other way help contribute towards a good work/life balance?

Comments

• Sheiko37Sheiko37 Member Posts: 214 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You say you want prestige and to move up, but you want to put in 75% the effort of everyone else, is that right?
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Yeah that's a tough request to fill. Maybe find somewhere closer that doesn't require an hour+ each way commute? If you want a full time salary, benefits, etc, you're typically looking at 40 hours as a min. Most people want a good work / life balance, getting a job you don't hate that doesn't require 2+ hours a day of driving is a good start.
  • TomkoTechTomkoTech Member Posts: 438