Options

Network Monitoring skills training

itdaddyitdaddy Member Posts: 2,089 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey guys and gals,

where can i get some network monitoring training. I have not seen any courses say in wire shark and network monitoring and the sort. I am a network engineer and I do basic bench marking but I want a course of books or video training in networking monitoring skills is there such a thing or do you just learn over the years working with all this stuff like WAN optimizer, load balancers etc..?

Comments

• Options
    Node ManNode Man Member Posts: 668 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Network monitoring depends heavily on the tools that an enterprise deploys.
  • Options
    thatguy67thatguy67 Member Posts: 344 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You could get the Wireshark books. I think the typical group of books people recommend are:

-Wireshark Network Analysis, 2nd Edition by Laura Chappel
    -Wireshark 101 by Laura Chappel
    -Wireshark Troubleshooting by Laura Chappel (can't recall the exact titles...just do a search on Amazon, they are typically bunched together in suggestions etc)

There is a Wireshark book by No Starch Press that has gotten good reviews.

As for videos, there is a Chappel University ultimate library. It looks a bit dated (circa 2005 maybe), but it's 6 DVDs that teach a lot. There is a Wireshark University 4 DVD set as well. Need to buckle down and start studying those since I'm taking the WCNA sometime this summer, lol. Additionally, there are Wireshark courses all over the place...INE, CBTNuggets, ITProTV all have them, and assorted courses on Udemy.
    2017 Goals: []PCNSE7 []CCNP:Security []CCNP:R&S []LCDE []WCNA
  • Options
    azaghulazaghul Member Posts: 569 ■■■■□□□□□□
    There's a lot out there for Wireshark (books and CBT), and you might get lucky searching Udemy and YouTube for general/product specific CBT.