I just Joined!

MegFromOzMegFromOz Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□

I just found this site today! I must say I really like it!! I am studying from the smartforce/softskill CD set.

I have pretty good computer knowledge, but feel a bit overwhelmed by all the information I need to retain - having a hard time retaining info. I took the test the first time a flunked it - couldn't sleep the night before and really messed me up.

It is really great to look in here and read all the post knowing I am not the only one with anxieties and a little frustrated. Thank you for being here!

I will be back soon! :)
Meg

Comments

• PavlovPavlov Member Posts: 264
    Welcome Meg - best way to learn about hardware is to find a PC that you can take apart and put back together (hopefully icon_wink.gif ). There are certain things that simply must be memorized for the exam and there are many "tricks" to help to retain them. As you go through your studies feel free to fire away with questions, someone will be along soon after you with help.
    Pavlov
    A+, Net+, i-Net+, CIW-A
    MCP NT4, MCSA 2K, MCSE 2K
  • bellboybellboy Member Posts: 1,017
    megfromoz,

i too felt overwhelmed by the amount of stuff i had to learn for a+. i had sent off for a course by mail order that seemed to take ages in arriving, so i bought the exam cram book and i felt like backing out of wanting to do the exam.

i just worked my way through it as best i could. some things like irqs and dmas i learned like times-tables and some things i picked up through time.

i joined a few i.t. forums and they helped a lot. i started by asking stupid questions and worked my way up to asking not-as-stupid questions and finally answering some ;)

try to find sites with practise tests that you know fulfill current exam objectives and visit them on occasion, or buy some exam simulating software.

welcome to techexams and best of luck with your a+.
    A+ Moderator
  • shankzshankz Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    hello guys,