ICND1/CCENT Pass!

Leftya88Leftya88 Posts: 25Member ■□□□□□□□□□
Good Afternoon TE,

Here's my ICND1 writeup.

Passed with a 935/1000. I felt over-prepared, honestly. I was ready to go in there, take a switch or router from nothing to full configuration (i.e. interfaces configured, static routes added, OSPF, NAT, DHCP, port security on switches etc) and it was significantly less than I was expecting. I'd been studying for about 3 months, usually 1-2 hours a night on weekdays,and up to 4 hours on weekends.

As far as what was on the test, I would echo what others before me have said; be able to subnet quickly. Definitely be able to interpret configs and command outputs. Traffic flow. I dont want to break NDA, so I think that's enough, and I can dial that back if needed. One thing I will say, is that some areas received much less attention than I had expected, or none at all.

Resources Used were an interesting mish mash, because I had been piddling with this cert for around 2 years, and finally just got around to knuckling down and "doing" it.

Books:

-Wendell Odom book (Good for the dirty details, but dryer than the Sahara Desert)
-Todd Lammle Review Guide (Good for laughs and last minute review)

Labs:

-TestOut CCNA course (received voucher from community college, got it for $60ish, regular its more)
-Packet Tracer (Had labs from Cisco Networking Academy comm college course)
-Boson Labsim

Tests:

-Boson Practice Exams -Note: These, in my opinion, were harder than the real thing, and were great as additional study motivation and learning tools.
-Practice Exams that came with the Odom Book

Thanks again TE,

Look for an ICND2 pass in a few months! :D

-Lefty

Comments

• johnnyqt25johnnyqt25 Posts: 51Banned ■■□□□□□□□□
    Congrats. I'll be taking the ICND1 soon too, so thanks for the tips.
  • gncsmithgncsmith Posts: 458Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    Congrats! Thanks for the write-up.
  • networker050184networker050184 Posts: 11,962Mod Mod
    Congrats!