Options

Two exams at once

axum202axum202 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey ,

I am a college student (graduating in December) who is away for the summer with nothing to do but work at my job (sometimes 40hrs a week, sometimes less). I recently started studying for my CCNA exam. I've been using CBT Nuggets which has really been helping me and I have some lab equipment (3 routers, 2 switches). My original plan was to take the ICDN1 and ICDN2. But since I have found out that CISCO is changing up the exam , I have came up with another plan...I want to get into network security , so I decided that I will take the ICDN1 (CCENT) and the Security+. Some people have told me that having the security+ is crucial if you want to get a clearance. Is this true?... Is it a good idea for me to study for both test at the same time? Any tips for studying multiple exams? ..or am I over-doing it ..? I really want to leave college with some credentials..p.s i go back to school aug 25th. So I have up until the 21st to take the ICDN1 and possibly a week or 2 after to take security+ since my last semester will be starting up.

Comments

• Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Security+ has nothing to do with getting a clearance other than the fact that a lot of DoD contracting jobs require the Security+ certification to apply or at the very least have it within 90 days of hiring. If you are hired for a job that requires a clearance at that point you will have to do paperwork for a clearance and background investigation will be done.

I would probably focus on the CCENT and just take it whenever you are ready to take it(or get tired of studying for.) You might want to book an exam date for sometime in August so you have some skin in the game.