Cisco VPN-3DES-AES Strong Encryption

TBev0TBev0 Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All

I'm hoping someone may be able to help me. Recently my home Cisco PIX firewall that I have been using for the last several years which serves my home needs perfectly died on me. I thought no biggy at the time as they're dirt cheap and plentiful to pick up second hand on Ebay so I found a cheap good condition PIX 515E with the unrestricted license.

What I hadn't realised is that the VPN-3DES-AES license is not part of the unrestricted license bundle, so if you don't have this you cant use secure VPNs or more specifically/importantly in my case VPN on your iPhone. I did some research and it turns out you can however request the VPN-3DES-AES license for free from cisco. https://supportforums.cisco.com/document/67701/asa-versions-image-names-and-licensing#Free_3DESAES_license Awesome!

So I followed the link to the Cisco Licensing portal and logged in with my newly created Cisco ID:
https://tools.cisco.com/SWIFT/LicensingUI/Quickstart
Then go to > Get Other Licenses
> IPS, Crypto, Other...
> Security Products
> Cisco PIX Security Appliance 3DES/AES License
> PIX SW Version: PIX OS v7.x (and later releases)
> Serial Number: 809194654

What is supposed to happen now is that I'm supposed to be asked for confirmation of where to have the automatically generated license key sent to free of charge. However what I'm getting instead is a warning message that I need to accept a 'strong encryption download license agreement' apparently due to US encryption laws.

lg.png