Options

Scripting

teknologikalteknologikal Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Very quick question. Just curious right now
I love computers, servers, networking, etc., but the very idea of programming\scripting makes me want to flip burgers for minimum wage =)

I am studying for a number of certifications, but I also understand that as I move along my IT career path, some programming will be required. My question is how much and how hard is it? I've learned 3 spoken languages besides my native language, but these are spoken languages and I have no program with that type of learning. I learn new languages fast. But when it comes to programming languages, I look at examples and think to my self, "WTF am I looking at?" and realize that I simply don't think I can learn it. It's either not for me, it's too complicated, or I am just not cut out of scripting.

Anyone had any experience with learning scripting from absolutely not knowing a single thing about it? Is is possible to learn and how much of it will I need if I am planning to take my career to either fully into networking or perhaps into virtualization?

Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Google has scripts for learning scripts, in other words, there will be many times where you need to do something that someone had already done before you.
  • Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722