Options

Cyber Security Audit - Frameworks and Standards to use

Big-JJBig-JJ Member Posts: 53 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi there,

I will be leading cyber security audit for our company. I have done some IT audit (and other IT-related audit) but not specifically cyber security related. Since I am not technical we are planning to hire a consultant for this audit.

My plan is to start with doing some research.

So, what would be good cyber security frameworks or standards that I should look into as a starting point?

Thanks in advance.
MBA, CIA, CRMA, CISA, CISM, CRISC, CISSP, PMP

Comments

• Options
    aftereffectoraftereffector Member Posts: 525 ■■■■□□□□□□
    What industry are you in?

NIST Risk Management Framework, a la NIST SP 800-53 (and SP 800-53A rev 4 and CNMI 1253 et al) are very good for government-related networks with a lot of confidentiality and integrity controls. I'd recommend ISO 27000 if you deal with overseas clients. COBIT is pretty good for financial markets that have to deal with PCI DSS. ITIL is another good choice but I haven't had any exposure to it.

There are a lot more, but NIST / ISO 27000 / COBIT / ITIL are four of the more popular ones.
    CCIE Security - this one might take a while...
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    How big is your company and how many security folks? If no security folks, how many IT resources can you spare? Almost everybody I know uses the NIST cybersecurity framework, but it's worth jack for actually telling an inexperienced company with no security leadership what to do. In that case I'd recommend using a standards-based approach like Center for Internet Security's Top 20 Critical Security Controls as they have defined action items and (I feel) are a bit more approachable than other standards like ISO 27k or NIST SP800-53
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□