Options

Certificates after Cyber Security Degree

CurtisCurtisCurtisCurtis Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

In May, 2017 I will be graduating from a Bachelor of Science in Cyber Security (4 years) degree. I want to get some certificates straight out of university.

I want my career to be focussed on Networks, Infrastructures and Information Security.

In the end I would like to own my own Information Security consulting business (In 10 years, maybe?).
I am British and I am studying in the UK, but I have been raised in Spain and the whole province(county) where I am from has a lot of small/medium sized businesses but there isn't a Security business. The closest one would be like a 2 hour drive. I would like to open my own company there, when I have the experience.

Originally I thought about getting the CompTIA N+ straight out of university, then the CompTIA Security+ afterwards. However, due to the fact I will be doing a lot of Security during final year of university, i thought maybe I should do Security+ whilst it is all fresh, then do Network+ after that.

I would also like to get the CCENT and CEH, and eventually CISSP.

What do you guys think? Should I do anything else? Any tips on progressing towards CISSP and owning my own company?

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

Thanks,
Curtis.

Comments

• Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    InfoSec is a broad field. Sec+ is a good start, since it covers a broad sweep.

A few of the areas of InfoSec are:
    Security Administration
    Management
    Network Defence
    Auditing
    Incident Handling
    Forensics
    Penetration Testing
    Secure programming

With an interest in infrastructure, probably the Enterprise Defence is the better fit. For this you can take the various vendor certifications eg MCSA Server 2012 (or 2016), CCNA R+S or CCNA Security, Red Hat, VMware, AWS, Checkpoint etc etc etc (it's a long list).