Does the MCTS certification still exist?

DoubleNNsDoubleNNs Member Posts: 2,013 ■■■■■□□□□□
I don't know why, but I thought the MCSA 2008 would have been retired by now. I see that it's not however.

If you pass one of the exams for the MCSA 2008 (or even MCSA 2012) and stop there, w/o completing the remaining 2, do you still get an MCTS certification?
Goals for 2018:
Certs: RHCSA, LFCS: Ubuntu, CNCF CKA, CNCF CKAD | AWS Certified DevOps Engineer, AWS Solutions Architect Pro, AWS Certified Security Specialist, GCP Professional Cloud Architect
Learn: Terraform, Kubernetes, Prometheus & Golang | Improve: Docker, Python Programming
To-do | In Progress | Completed


  • dehgrahdehgrah Member Posts: 140 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Yes, if you pass the 70-640 for example you will achieve MCTS. I just achieved my MCSA last week for 2008 R2 and achieved MCP as well with the MCSA.
  • OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    Yes. Specifically, passing 70-640 will give you MCTS: Windows Server 2008 Active Directory, Configuration, and passing 70-642 will give you MCTS: Windows Server 2008 Network Infrastructure, Configuration. So if you complete the 3 exams for the MCSA, you will get 3 certifications (2x MCTS + MCSA).

    There are also other MCTS certifications still available for Windows 7, SQL Server, Visual Studio (.NET 4), and SharePoint. It looks like some are being replaced with "Specialist" and others dropped entirely. For example, none of the Windows Server 2012 exams give you MCTS, but 70-697 will give you Specialist certification as well as credit to MCSA Windows 10, and each of the MCSD Azure exams also gives a Specialist designation.

    As usual, MS logic is hard to penetrate.
    2017 Goals - Something Cisco, Something Linux, Agile PM
Sign In or Register to comment.