Options

Appeared for CISSP EXAM - Did not Pass

sectestsectest Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Dear Friends,
I have been following the forum for a long time and have benefited from the various tips offered. I appeared for the CISSP exam 2 weeks back. My score was 600. I think a lot of you will laugh when i tell you that I have Zero experience in the security industry. I do have an Engineering degree and an MS in Telecommunications. I have been working at a recruiting company in a sales and recruiting role for a number of years.
I had a course in my Masters program in information security that I found very interesting. A growing dissatisfaction with my current career led me to pursue something that is closely related to my skills, education and potential. I started studying for the CISSP in Jan and appeared for the exam on 24th May. I completely gave up my social life in April and May. The sources I used are Sybex 7th Edition, Kelly's videos, Eric Conrad 11th Hour. I also did 1200 questions from CCCure and the Sybex exams. My average score was about 70% on all of them. I believe I was well prepared. I worked extremely hard. I also spoke to people who are already in the industry and are CISSP certified.
Contrary to what every one says, I believe there were a reasonable number of very technical questions. I could also tell that someone who is already from within the industry would be in a better position to answer some of the questions.
I request you'll to share your inputs with me. I would like to continue on this path but maybe experienced folk like you'll can guide me to the next steps. I was disappointed for the first 24 hours but I was able to put this behind me.
Thanks very much in advance.

Comments

• Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□