Another STP point of confusion

doctorlexusdoctorlexus Member Posts: 217
I've seen a lot of example diagrams like this one:

s4GNCBB.jpg

And what they show is that the link with the highest port number on Switch B ends up being blocked. But what I can't tell is if gi2/24 is blocked because it's higher than gi2/23, or is gi2/24 blocked because it's connected to gi2/11 which is higher than gi2/10?

In other words, if I had this configuration:

YsrEA7y.jpg

Then would gi2/24 still be blocked, or would gi2/23 be blocked?

Comments

• sschwietermansschwieterman Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I am also studying for my ICND2 exam currently. Am taking the exam this Thursday so it would help if others could confirm, but...

My understanding is that the blocked port is based on the higher port of the root switch, not the non-root switch. In your example, the first picture port g2/24 would be blocked and the second picture port 2/23 would be blocked.
  • sucanushiesucanushie Member Posts: 163
    Because the top switch is the Root Bridge None of it's ports will be blocking.

So because they are on the same switch and would have the same Bridge ID the lowest port would win and become the root port and G 2/24 would be blocking.
  • doctorlexusdoctorlexus Member Posts: 217
    I am also studying for my ICND2 exam currently. Am taking the exam this Thursday so it would help if others could confirm, but...

My understanding is that the blocked port is based on the higher port of the root switch, not the non-root switch. In your example, the first picture port g2/24 would be blocked and the second picture port 2/23 would be blocked.

Thanks for the reply. This is the way Boson explains it, but I've seen other explanations, which leads me to believe a lot of people, even those trying to instruct it, don't really understand how it works.

I'm leaning toward your explanation as being correct.
  • sucanushiesucanushie Member Posts: 163