Options

Looking for Direction

TargetcallerTargetcaller Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all, I am a new member to this forum and in search of guidance. For the past several weeks I have been scanning the internet and various resources to try and find the best method to get into the cyber sec field. I have not found too many cut and dry answers so here I am asking the forum:). A little about me, I own and manage a business (its not in the IT field) but am looking to pursue a career in cyber sec. I dont have any formal IT experience but am pretty good with computers. My first introduction to the thought of cyber security was some severe ddosing I was on the receiving end of, over a video game when I was younger. I was self taught and learned how to reset IP's and set up proxies and eventually I was doing it for a guild of around 1000 members in-game. It was very basic but I enjoyed it and am looking to see if I have a future in the field. I had a 4.1 GPA in high school and was taking college classes at the same time but got burnt out and never pursued a degree. At this point I would like to only take college classes directly related to IT. I want to stay away from the art classes and history classes that have nothing to do with the field. I am not sure where to start this journey whether it is EC-council or formal college classes. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks all

Targetcaller

Comments

• Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    WGU would be your best bet if you only want IT related courses plus you get the certs that you want, some being EC council certs.

Online IT Security Degree | Information Security Degree | WGU College of Information Technology
  • Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    At this point I would like to only take college classes directly related to IT. I want to stay away from the art classes and history classes that have nothing to do with the field.