Options

CASP Lab

TByrd450TByrd450 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I recently completed my CompTIA trio, and I'm looking for bigger fish to tackle. I just graduated high school, so I don't want to jump too far ahead. I have some IT experience, but not even close to the recommended. I understand that CompTIA over recommended, but I need to be able to put all the theories with a computer and work with it. I have a CASP book, but I want to be prepared for the sims. I am beginning college this fall; however, I will not reach my security classes until junior year when all my certifications expire. I will also be trying for CCNA: CyberOps when more information is released. What would be a good setup to learn all the technologies covered on CASP?

Comments

• Options
    ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
    There are labs listed in the Sybex book. I've been reading the Pearson book, but I see lots of reviews referencing the Sybex labs as being helpful.
  • Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Definitely, purchase/borrow the Sybex book for the labs. I have both the Sybex and the Pearson books, so if you can get copies of both you won't be disappointed.

As an aside, why don't you wait to take the CASP until next summer? That way the CASP will renew your trio and keep your mind in the game. To be clear, I am not discouraging you from taking the exam, just suggesting a timing strategy.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • Options
    TByrd450TByrd450 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□