Options

Certification Combo for Network Engineer?

TrucidoTrucido Member Posts: 250 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone!

I recently found this site and have been lurking in the shadows, learning everything I could, reading about everyone's IT experience. Not just with certifications but with jobs, salaries, and general IT tips as well.

A little background on myself; I am 27, I am from Ohio, I have no certifications, I have been in IT since 2011 and I have been working with computers since I was 8 years old. I started as a Verizon FiOS call center rep troubleshooting hardware/software issues. Then I moved onto a Help Desk role for Ascena Retail, doing more of the same really, basic troubleshooting of software/hardware in a retail environment. I am currently working at a top 50 bank for the east coast, as Internal Help Desk again. I've been getting experience in the basic understanding of a lot of various tools. Active Directory, Remote Tools (VMware ect), LDAP, Novell, ect...

My problem thus far is all of the job offers I can get are going to be under 20 dollars an hour as a Level 1 Analyst; mostly contractor/to-hire. The average pay is about 15-18 dollars an hour. I really love the customer service aspect of the help desk roles I have been in thus far, and the knowledge I am getting from all the random issues that come from a business / retail environment. But I am realizing, I am almost 30 now, I have no Certifications, I still only qualify for Entry Tier1-2 Help Desk positions. I don't want to be stuck making 15/hr for my entire life. It's already a struggle with money as it is, I can't imagine what it'd be like if I had to support kids too.