Options

Changing Careers-GCIH Training/Exam

wuglord9wuglord9 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I'm posting on here hoping to get some guidance on the GCIH path, InfoSec careers and how the GCIH cert fits into the long-term plan of succeeding in the field.

About 3 months ago I decided to make a career jump to InfoSec--I came from a Corporate Security Analytics background. It was a heck of a risky move. I wanted to get into Network Security and Threat Intelligence because I have a passion for getting involved and solving detailed, complex problems, and performing in-depth investigations. I have never held an InfoSec or IT job in my life. I'm still a complete beginner to foundational networking concepts (I'm learning as much as I can), IDS/IPS, Linux OS, programming, etc... 3 months ago I got my "dream" job. Initially I was excited; when I was hired I informed the hiring manager that I did not have an InfoSec background and my previous education and jobs were not related to IT. He hired me anyways; I am super appreciative of it, but I was also very unsure of what my job would actually entail (even after numerous conversations). When I was hired I was advised that I would get GCIH training from a SANS live event and would get the cert exam covered. I was informed that when I started I would get trained up on everything and that a training plan would be given to me.

So far I've been a bit disappointed and it's been very stressful; I am wayyy more stressed out than I was at my other job. I wasn't provided the on the job training I was promised and I was asked to basically figure it out on my own by watching videos and reading documentation. This isn't the type of job where you can just be expected to get it after repetition; you need to be provided with some sort of training :). I'm a pretty driven guy and I'm having to create my own training plan and I'm being aggressive with getting help from my co-workers.