Options

Failed 651 need some study advice

thexfactorthexfactor Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys I just got back and failed my exam. My background is in law and asset security. I used the Sybex book, 11th hour book, Cybrary videos and one of the outlines that I found online. I started about 2 1/2 weeks ago and I was reviewing about 2-3 hrs per night and 5-6 on weekends.
I was getting roughly 70% right on the Sybex and MH practice exams. They were nothing like the real exam though. They were much more detailed than what is actually on the exam.
I felt like a lot of my time was wasted on memorizing useless facts. I don't come from an IT background so I thought there would be a lot of technical questions but in the end there were only like 5-10 pretty technical questions. I spent way too much time trying to memorize technical things. I thought that the reason why most people thought it wasn't technical was because they come from an IT background.
I actually thought I may have passed the exam at the end. There were a ton of questions where I thought it was 50/50 on the right or wrong choice. I finished in about 2.5 hrs. Most of the questions were you either know it or you don't.
My weakest areas are security engineering, identity and security operations.
My plan is to rematch the cybrary videos and then review my 4 weakest areas with the cybex book and try to retake.

Anyone have any other advice?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    alfred06alfred06 Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
    2 1/2 weeks of study and you took the exam? looks like everyone is trying to get the lowest amount of time to study for CISSP pretty soon we will have 1 week or couple of days study for the exam and passed :D.

review your weak areas and make sure you understand that domain. check CCCure they have good practice exams. also try and put in a little more time into it. good luck.