Options

Passed CEH this week! 89.2%

technietechnie Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I sat and passed my CEH exam with a score of 89.2%. I'd like to thank everyone here for their advise. Here's what I would suggest based on my prep:

Study period

1. I started studying about 2 weeks before the exam, and focused on it quite a bit. I worked for the first week, meaning that I was only able to study after office hours.
2. I took a week off from work and focused on CEH and nothing else. This really helped.

Materials for studying:

I attended formal classes a long time ago (I mean years ago!). So, using a self-study approach, here's how I studied:

1. Youtube!
There's a tonne of videos out there on Youtube for CEH. This gave me a good foundation of the focus areas. I also signed up for ITU (ITU | The Leaders in E-Learning) and found their videos useful too.

2. Matt Walker's CEH All-in-one Guide.
Great book, although I didnt read it at all. I did the exercises which helped.

3. Skillset.
I signed up for the pro version. I wouldn't say its necessary, but its completely up to you. Some of the videos they have on their site are useful to prepare for the exam.

4. Boson
I paid for Boson and this was very useful as well. The exams are challenging but it gives you an idea of how challenging the exam is. The exam itself was just as challenging as the Boson questions.

5. Google:
Based on the advise of everyone else who has posted here (thank you very much!), I took the path of Google-fu to research and truly understand the new vulnerabilities such as Logjam, POODLE, Heartbleed, and FREAK. I also watched videos / demonstrations of these vulnerabilties on Youtube as well.

6. Techexams