Thread #23142 Passed with some comments

thehelmthehelm Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I just passed the exam today. Figure as a way of contributing should at least thank the forum that helped and also layout some sources that helped me along my path. Nothing really new below but any information can help. This whole post may sound rough as English was not my strong class.

Experience:

I have about 15+ years of computer experience and roughly 5 years of security related fun. I have been studying for the test off and on since 2012. 2015 I actually made a goal to attempt it. 2016 on a 2 1/2 month deadline I threw everything I had at it. Note that unless specified, everything is from the 2016 time frame.

Practice Tests:

I used a variety of sources here. A key to realize is that NONE of the sources should be used as the gospel for what is on the exam. Instead they should be referenced as a means of understanding your weak areas. Forget your final score after a practice run and instead focus on what the questions are asking, why the other answers are wrong, and how through an understanding you have of what was asked. I originally started out mimicking the exam by doing 250 question runs. But it became a lot more effective for me to just do 25-50 at a time, and then dissect every part of the question. But ultimately, do as many questions you can. Now on with the rankings.

CCure: 9/10. Most exam like which surprised me. I went into the exam expecting Shon Harris level questions. Format aside, this resource is great for all the links they provide to the questions and user input. Very good mnemonics and presentation of the reasons for why something is/isn't good. I only doc points because it was too technical.

Skillset: 3/10. I cannot verify the quality post September of 2015. However these questions when I took them were way too general. Great I suppose as a free resource and if you are just looking to compile a list of your weaknesses/strengths.