Options

Router and two layer 3 switches

hodgey87hodgey87 Member Posts: 232
Hi Guys,

Looking for a little help if possible, I have a little topology ..... R1 -- SW1 -- SW2 nothing else! I cant ping from SW2 ip 192.168.1.2 to the router interface 192.168.0.1 ive used both static routes and OSPF and have the same issue. Can anyone see where i'm going wrong .... (The same config for both static routes and OSPF is working on packet tracer)

Here are the configs (Only IP address have been configured, nothing fancy)

R1 -
Current configuration : 1895 bytes
!
! Last configuration change at 18:02:02 UTC Sun Jul 10 2016
!
version 15.4
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname R1
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
aqm-register-fnf
!
!
no aaa new-model
mmi polling-interval 60
no mmi auto-configure
no mmi pvc
mmi snmp-timeout 180
no ip icmp rate-limit unreachable
!
!
!
!
!
!
 
 
!
!
!
!
no ip domain lookup
ip cef
no ipv6 cef
!
multilink bundle-name authenticated
!
!
!
!
!
!         
!
!
!
redundancy
!
!
ip tcp synwait-time 5
! 
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface Ethernet0/0
 ip address 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.0
!         
interface Ethernet0/1
 no ip address
 shutdown
!
interface Ethernet0/2
 no ip address
 shutdown
!
interface Ethernet0/3
 no ip address
 shutdown
!
interface Ethernet1/0
 no ip address
 shutdown
!
interface Ethernet1/1
 no ip address
 shutdown
!
interface Ethernet1/2
 no ip address
 shutdown 
!
interface Ethernet1/3
 no ip address
 shutdown
!
interface Serial2/0
 no ip address
 shutdown
 serial restart-delay 0
!
interface Serial2/1
 no ip address
 shutdown
 serial restart-delay 0
!
interface Serial2/2
 no ip address
 shutdown
 serial restart-delay 0
!
interface Serial2/3
 no ip address
 shutdown 
 serial restart-delay 0
!
interface Serial3/0
 no ip address
 shutdown
 serial restart-delay 0
!
interface Serial3/1
 no ip address
 shutdown
 serial restart-delay 0
!
interface Serial3/2
 no ip address
 shutdown
 serial restart-delay 0
!
interface Serial3/3
 no ip address
 shutdown
 serial restart-delay 0
!
router ospf 1
 network 192.168.0.0 0.0.255.255 area 0
!
ip forward-protocol nd
!
!
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
!
!
!
!
control-plane
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
line con 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line aux 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line vty 0 4
 login
 transport input none
!
!
end
 


SW1 -
Current configuration : 1631 bytes
!
! Last configuration change at 18:03:02 UTC Sun Jul 10 2016
!
version 15.2
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
service compress-config
!
hostname SW1
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!
logging discriminator EXCESS severity drops 6 msg-body drops EXCESSCOLL 
logging buffered 50000
logging console discriminator EXCESS
!
no aaa new-model
!
!         
!
!
!
no ip icmp rate-limit unreachable
!
!
!
no ip domain-lookup
ip cef
no ipv6 cef
!
!
!
spanning-tree mode rapid-pvst
spanning-tree extend system-id
!
vlan internal allocation policy ascending
!
ip tcp synwait-time 5
! 
!
!
!         
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface Ethernet0/0
 no switchport
 ip address 192.168.0.2 255.255.255.0
 duplex auto
!
interface Ethernet0/1
 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
 switchport mode trunk
!
interface Ethernet0/2
!
interface Ethernet0/3
!
interface Ethernet1/0
!
interface Ethernet1/1
!
interface Ethernet1/2
!
interface Ethernet1/3
!
interface Ethernet2/0
!
interface Ethernet2/1
!
interface Ethernet2/2
!
interface Ethernet2/3
!
interface Ethernet3/0
!
interface Ethernet3/1
!
interface Ethernet3/2
!
interface Ethernet3/3
!         
interface Vlan1
 ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
!
router ospf 1
 network 192.168.1.0 0.0.0.255 area 0
 network 192.168.0.0 0.0.255.255 area 0
!
ip forward-protocol nd
!
!
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.1
!
!
!
!
!
control-plane
!
!
line con 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line aux 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line vty 0 4
 login
!
!
end
SW2 -
Current configuration : 1488 bytes
!
! Last configuration change at 18:02:55 UTC Sun Jul 10 2016
!
version 15.2
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
service compress-config
!
hostname SW2
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!
logging discriminator EXCESS severity drops 6 msg-body drops EXCESSCOLL 
logging buffered 50000
logging console discriminator EXCESS
!
no aaa new-model
!
!         
!
!
!
no ip icmp rate-limit unreachable
!
!
!
no ip domain-lookup
ip cef
no ipv6 cef
!
!
!
spanning-tree mode rapid-pvst
spanning-tree extend system-id
!
vlan internal allocation policy ascending
!
ip tcp synwait-time 5
! 
!
!
!         
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface Ethernet0/0
 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
 switchport mode trunk
!
interface Ethernet0/1
!
interface Ethernet0/2
!
interface Ethernet0/3
!
interface Ethernet1/0
!
interface Ethernet1/1
!         
interface Ethernet1/2
!
interface Ethernet1/3
!
interface Ethernet2/0
!
interface Ethernet2/1
!
interface Ethernet2/2
!
interface Ethernet2/3
!
interface Ethernet3/0
!
interface Ethernet3/1
!
interface Ethernet3/2
!
interface Ethernet3/3
!
interface Vlan1
 ip address 192.168.1.2 255.255.255.0
!         
router ospf 1
 network 192.168.1.0 0.0.0.255 area 0
!
ip forward-protocol nd
!
!
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
!
!
!
!
!
control-plane
!
!
line con 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line aux 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line vty 0 4
 login
!
!
end

Comments

  • Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    What do the routing tables look like?
    for some L3 switches, you need to enable routing for the switch to do routing. not sure if it is necessary here.
  • Options
    DPGDPG Member Posts: 780 ■■■■■□□□□□
    What does the routing table on R1 look like? How about SW2?
  • Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    SW2 is trunked to SW1
    So, he needs to know routing on SW1

    and ospf on SW1 should have r1 as a neighbor and formed an adjacency
  • Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    try adding: ip routing
    onto SW1

    static routes don't work if routing isn't enabled either
  • Options
    hodgey87hodgey87 Member Posts: 232
    Please ignore this thread guys, used a different image in GNS3 and its all working fine ....

    Guess its the risk you take using simulated software!! Was pulling my hair out earlier, had it working on packet tracer and real kit but not GNS3 haha.
  • Options
    xnxxnx Member Posts: 464 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Yep, I wouldn't trust the switches in GNS3... Only physical equipment for me
    Getting There ...

    Lab Equipment: Using Cisco CSRs and 4 Switches currently
Sign In or Register to comment.