Options

Another OSCP Tale

I first saw OSCP certification on Techexams about a year ago, it seemed a very interesting journey, a very difficult one indeed. I have read many threads since, and techexams had the best ones especially threads from JollyFrogs and MrAgent. I have never created a thread on progress with certification, but let this be the first one.

My background is just Network Engineering. I have done some windows and linux administration, but not for very long. I have no scripting or any extensive security knowledge. The main reason this certification is interesting is "try harder" keyword. It would be better if there were more courses similar to this one outside of security field. Anyway if I am able to pass this certification I believe that anyone can do it too. I do not expect it to be easy or even possible, but I would like to try it out. I will devote about 2-3 hours a day after work and 12-15 hours on weekends.

I have started it yesterday. I had a very hard time with I guess two of the easiest boxes. I skimmed through the course materials, but wanted to at least tackle one or two hosts as many people said were "super easy". Spent nearly entire day trying to exploit one very common vulnerability with no success. I then tried to use Metasploit, even though I did not want to. Replicated the same vulnerability locally, did it hundred times, but no luck on the Lab box. After some prolonged period of time I figured it out, it was a very clever twist by offsec. I was both mad and delighted that I was able to figure it out. In meanwhile I also struggled with another "easy" box. I thought there was no way to figure it out. I had no luck escalating for hours, nothing that I could find worked, but then one of executables that I found randomly gave me output that pointed me in the right direction. Within couple minutes I got the shell. Best feeling ever. Those two easy boxes were honestly super hard.