Options

Should I accept a high paying help desk job

SkylakeSkylake Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

Long time reader, first time poster here.

I took an interview yesterday for a help desk job at an investment company with about 50-60 employees. This investment company handles about 8 billion in assets. So needless to say this company has money.

A little bit about my background, I have a degree in CIS that I got over 10 years ago. My biggest problem is I am too smart for help desk (since I've been doing it forever), but I am not a senior level systems administrator. I've worked as a systems admin for a few small companies, and I worked as an entry level systems admin for company of about 7,000. Then I got laid off from that job because of budget cuts (it wasn't just me).

I've never had the opportunity to work with things like AWS, Google Cloud, storage, databases, Linux, Sharepoint, or Citrix. I've worked with Windows Server, Active Directory, HP Servers, VMware, and a little bit of Cisco IOS.

At my last systems admin job, I was part systems admin, datacenter admin, and datacenter datacenter technician. Since we didn't have datacenter admins or datacenter technicians. We did have a NOC that did all of the monitoring for us.

Getting back to my current situation. This help desk job is offering $65,000 which is great for a help desk job, but it's just a help desk job. I don't want two years to go by and still be no where closer to the senior level. In this day and age no job lasts forever; and finding another high paying help desk job is no small task.

I am going back today for a second interview, so I will be interviewing them more today. Asking about them about their environment, and opportunities for learning.

So the big question is, if they offer me this job and there's no opportunities for learning should I take it?

Comments

• Options
    TybTyb Member Posts: 207 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Well, money is money and if you need a job yes take it.