What am I missing?

DDStimeDDStime Member Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I have been reading threads about the exam and I am getting the impression that its a lot more technical than some me of the material is leading to believe it is.

All I am reading is the Sybex book and really its like a review. Most of the tools it mentions are pretty common like nmap, nc, hping and wire shark. I have been using these tools off and on for a few years, but from the posts I feel that I need to dig a little deeper.

From the Sybex book it seems like a test that is testing you on the tools and very very basic usage. Is this correct?

I am at chapter 14 in a few days study and have literally learned maybe 10 or 11 things I did not know, but most of it was a review from my CISSP studies.

At any rate, can someone give me some insight into how technical the test gets.

For example how in depth would it go for tcp....TCP = 3 way handshake>ak/syn-ak/ak>ak /syn sequence numbers > increasing numbers with null inserts to guess following sequence in a victim>actual sequence and ak values increasing by one for each comm. How in depth do I need to understand the concepts?

Comments

• BuzzSawBuzzSaw Member Posts: 259 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You can find out what you need to know from the blueprint.

I don't have CISSP, but I know people with CISSP, and the technical knowledge I needed for CEH far surpassed the more management level info they seemed to have as it pertains to CEH specifically.

Tool questions will vary from test to test. If you think you're already there, then download the boson exams and see how you do. The money is well spent IMO