Options

mdhisapro's CCIE Journey

mdhisapromdhisapro Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
I graduated from High-school in 2005; and I took Networking through 11th-12th grade as part of a magnet program. The curriculum aligned with ICND1 and ICND2 and the goal of that course was to prepare us to certify for the CCNA post graduation. I did not follow through with this right away, but always got excited about the idea of obtaining my CCIE in RS. I did not follow through with the CCNA right at the end of my schooling, and actually put it off a few years. I took my time and re-studied and reinforced the material to the point I was thoroughly comfortable and had already obtained a job where I was exposed to this type of work prior to taking the exam. I have always been reluctant to obtain and advertise passing any certification that I couldn't sit down in front of someone and explain thoroughly.

I don't want to luck my way through passing a test. I want to be confident in the material I am testing on, mostly for when it comes to a potential employer and an interview situation. That is the biggest thing that scares me about the CCIE. At what point will I feel like I am ready, and deserve to take the test. At what point, do I consider myself sound enough in the information I am able to absorb and test on. I just recently passed the CCNP RS this week; after soaking up a lot of the material and labbing for months. I want to keep pushing forward now while I still have the momentum and prepare myself for the CCIE.