Options

Passed Security+ SY0-401 Today - Personal experience with certifications and careers

rolando3321rolando3321 Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
Passed today with a 788. I used Darril Gibson's Security+ Get Certified Get Ahead.

I studied for two weeks and didn't use any practice exams, aside from the chapter questions in Gibson's book. Normally I like to use two books for a certification and study for about 3 months. I bought Gibson's book because people on this site were recommending it and I'm glad they did. What I really like about Gibson's book was that he would actually say "This protocol is not really used anymore" or "this isn't good because of blah" You still need to know the protocol, but it helped knowing when something was a legacy protocol.

As for taking the test with two weeks of study, well you will have to bare with a bit of my back story. If you don't care for stories you can stop reading here :P but someone who is trying to get into a IT career might find some sort of value out of it.

In short, I decided that my life wasn't going to get better unless I did something, so I went back to college at 27 for IT-Networking (this was 5 years ago). My interest in the IT world were wide, I just knew that I didn't want to be a programmer. I quit my $12.50 an hour Wal-mart job to work at a "ma and pa" computer repair shop for $7.45 a hour. I worked there for three years and never got a single raise. The experience was worth a lot to me ... well for the first year, but even thou I had flat lined in my learning opportunities; I was still adding IT related experience to my resume. (The owner was a real "B" but I stuck it out)