Options

MCSA or CCNA after Security+

JTNJTN Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone

I just passed Network+ over the weekend and I'm currently studying for the Security+. So far so good. Feel like I am really grabbing the concepts so far. Once I obtain my Security+ I was planning to study for the MCSA Win 2012. But now I'm thinking studying for the CCNA. Which should I study for after?

Also any tips/ suggestions for the Security+

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    AndersonSmithAndersonSmith Member Posts: 471 ■■■□□□□□□□
    There really is no right or wrong answer as to what you should study after Security+ between the MCSA Server 2012 and the CCNA because they are two completely different sub-fields of IT. If you're more interested in building and working on the network infrastructure such as router, switches, cabling, etc then go for the CCNA. If you're more interested in doing System Admin type work on servers then go for the MCSA. Do what interests you the most between those two. I will say that the CCNA will have SOME overlap with Network+ so if what you learned with Network+ is still fresh in your mind and you're more interested in networking you may be ahead to go after the CCNA while you still have a lot of the networking skills fresh.
    All the best,
    Anderson

"Everything that has a beginning has an end"
  • Options
    I'm currently more interested in doing the network/security side of IT but I feel like having the MCSA looks better on a resume. I'm planning to move in in the near future and want to get as many certs as possible before then. I haven't had relevant IT work for a while, but I do have a BS. When I move I would like to get a sys or network admin position. Once I get that I'll focus on getting my SSCP, GSEC, and CISSP and have my employer help pay for them.
  • Options
    AndersonSmithAndersonSmith Member Posts: 471 ■■■□□□□□□□