Options

Studying for COMPTIA A+

crabbymkcrabbymk Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I am currently studying for my COMPTIA A+ but using the 801-802 book, is there much new information that has been added? I am looking at sitting the exams 901 & 902 before the end of the year so just want to be sure I am not missing anything before I do.

Also I have been doing the practise tests on here, and also via apps I downloaded onto my phone, and so far I am doing ok, just need to keep reading the information.

If anyone has any tips or advice please let me know. Cheers :D

Comments

• Options
    thehappyonethehappyone Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Dude, put that book down! There are way too many differences to name. Get yourself the Prowse ExamCram 901-902. Don't buy the Mike Meyers book, it's information overload.

If I was you this is what I would do to pass with just FOUR weeks of studying.

Book two weeks off from work. Take the ExamCram book and study just one 901 chapter each day and watch the Prof Messer videos that relate to that chapter. This should take you 8 hours each day.

These are the 901 chapters in ExamCram: Chapter 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16.

That is 11 chapters, so 11 days of studying, then use 1 day to do practice exams.

When studying, make notes of each chapter, make flash cards of any table you come accross in the book. i.e. RAM speeds, CPU names, etc. Memorise all the flash cards very well on day 13. On the 14th day you will bloody well take the exam and pass.

Rinse and repeat for 902.

Good Luck.
  • Options
    AndersonSmithAndersonSmith Member Posts: 471 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You absolutely need to use study materials that align with the objectives of the current exam. CompTIA had a flow-chart a few months back showing the differences between the 800 series and 900 series exams.
    All the best,
    Anderson

"Everything that has a beginning has an end"
  • Options
    jquizjquiz Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□