Options

From Network Engineer to CISSP

human1986human1986 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,

I would like some advise from you all. I am a Network Engineer CCNP certified, trying to get into the field of IT Security. I have very basic understanding of IT Security but no real work experience. Do you think it is possible for me prepare and pass CISSP exam, and even if I pass will I be able to get endorsement from (ISC)2.

I have Comptia Security + in my mind as well, if CISSP is not recommended, i will proceed with that?

Please shed some light :)

Regards
Nav

Comments

• Options
    ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
    human1986 wrote: »
    Hello Everyone,

I would like some advise from you all. I am a Network Engineer CCNP certified, trying to get into the field of IT Security. I have very basic understanding of IT Security but no real work experience. Do you think it is possible for me prepare and pass CISSP exam, and even if I pass will I be able to get endorsement from (ISC)2.

I have Comptia Security + in my mind as well, if CISSP is not recommended, i will proceed with that?

Please shed some light :)

Regards
    Nav

You can pass the exam with some study. I was purely technical and was able to do it. You need to see if you experience lines up with the requirement from ISC2. I would definitely recommend Security+.
  • Options
    AverageJoeAverageJoe Member Posts: 316 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You can pass the CISSP exam, but there is an extensive experience requirement for endorsement (5 years, though some of that can be substituted with education, etc.). Look at the experience requirements and see if they match up with your experience.

Security+ has no experience requirement, you just need to pass the exam, so it sounds like Security+ might be a better starting point for you right now.

Just my 2 cents.
    Joe
  • Options