Options

G.e.d

2»

Comments

• Options
    Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    thomas_ wrote: »
    Someone else mentioned taking CLEP tests, which I also highly recommend. What tests get accepted varies from college to college, but it's a good way to knock out some of your lower-level classes. I was able to use 5 of them towards my degree which shaved off a semester for my degree. A lot of teachers just teach from the text book and the publisher's slides, so you're not missing much by just studying and taking the exam.

I studied for and passed the Spanish CLEP. Was good for 9 credits(3 classes worth). Not only a time saver but a money saver.
    Im not even a native speaker.

Pick one you like, history, math. You could test out of the more basic classes.
    2019 Goals
    CompTIA Linux+
    [ ] Bachelor's Degree
  • Options
    Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Trucido wrote: »
    entry level network engineer/ect should accept a G.E.D. Later in my career it would be harder to get promoted or senior level jobs with only a GED.

Entry level Neteng is a mid level professional role. Trust me. Unless you have 5-7yr exp as a neteng, it will be extremely hard without a degree.
    You can look good exp-wise, but many companies, especially gov't require a bachelor degree for such.
    2019 Goals
    CompTIA Linux+
    [ ] Bachelor's Degree
  • Options
    chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□