configuring a switch with 2 hosts

BennyTheManBennyTheMan Member Posts: 76 ■■■□□□□□□□
I now know how to set up a router with two hosts and ping but am unsure how to do the same with a switch instead of a router. I am unable to get the switch config to work, however. I am unable to assign IP addresses to the interfaces on the switch. If I am completely wrong on this issue, please don't humiliate me unless it is constructive. I am just getting started with this stuff and am studying alone. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

-Benny

Comments

• clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    you don't assign ip addresses to the the switch's interfaces. switches work at layer 2. They don't care about ip addresses. all they care about are mac address. The mac address of the frames that enter a switch port. So, if the switch is in it's default mode, just connect your hosts and router to the switch and it should work. of course, your using cross over cables to connect the hosts to the router. To connect the hosts and router to a switch, you will need straight through cables.
  • BennyTheManBennyTheMan Member Posts: 76 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I got the cabling right but can't ping. I'll keep trying different stuff now that I know I don't need to assign IPs to the interfaces. Thanks
  • clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    do you have console access to the switch?

if you do assign an ip address to it's SVI (switch vitual interface).
    conf t
    interface vlan 1
    ip address theAdress subnetMask
    no shut
    end

the ip address has to be on the same subnet as the hosts and router.

then you can ping the SVI ip address from the hosts. can you ping from the switch to the hosts.

are the lights on the interface showing green?
    are you getting mac addresses in the mac address table
    on the switch: show mac address-table dynamic
    show ip interface brief
    is the status and protocol show up and up for the ports with cables connected?