Options

VMware Certs Along The Cisco Certification Track ?

pujan96pujan96 Member Posts: 121 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

In the networking world is it worth getting other certs aside from Cisco?

Im currently studying for the CCNA exam to try and obtain an entry level networking job, I dont want to go for the CCNP until I have actual enterprise experience (as I feel a CCNP is pointless unless you have actual man hours behind it) so was wondering what other certs I can put under my belt for that entry level job position.

After passing the CCNA R&S I am planning to go for the CCNA Security to broaden my horizon. Now and again I hear about VMware and how close they work alongside Cisco tech in the enterprise network, after gaining my CCNA cert should I try and get an understanding or even go for one (or a couple) of the VMware certs?

I currently work at an Apple solutions provider, my main job role is hardware repair however I am slowly progressing on to 1st line support and mac server admin. Within the next year or so I want to obtain some sort of entry level or trainee networking job, hence the question about what certs to get.

Thanks
Pujan
[X] CCNA R&S

[X] CCNP Route 300-101
[  ] CCNP Switch 300-115
[  ] CCNP T-Shoot 300-135

[  ]  NPDESI 300-550

[  ] CCIE R&S Written
[  ] CCIE R&S LAB

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Are they going to pay for your certs? If not, VMware certs can get pretty pricey. Unless you go to like Stanley or some other alternative (usually there's a waiting list), you're going to pay a couple grand for a VCP.

If you want something diverse to under the systems side of things, then I'd go for something like MCSA Server 2012. Knowing how to work with sys admins when you're a network guy is a nice skill.
  • Options
    fumanchufumanchu Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□