Options

Question regarding SEC401: Security Essentials OnDemand course and GIAC GSEC test

ronorono Member Posts: 121 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello,

I decided after months of thinking and evaluating that my 40's birthday gift it will be a SANS course because I really need a boost in my career. I have an Bachelor of Science in Network and System Administration, 10 years work experience in IT and som certification that are getting more than 10 years old now and full of dust :D. My current position is network and security administrator in a small office (50 users) and I really want to get some of SANS "black belts" in security field. (I also train Kyokushin kayicon_thumright.gif which is kind of "SANS security courses" in karate).

I will choose to start with SEC401: Security Essentials OnDemand version of the course because it's suits me and my family best. I have take a look at the course syllabus and under the SEC401.4: Secure Communications i see that cryptography and stenography are well covered and the GIAC GSEC exam will test these concepts in depth. Especially under "Crypto Concepts" GIAC states that "The candidate will demonstrate a high-level understanding of the mathematical concepts which contribute to modern cryptography."

My question is for those who have passed the exam and is regarding how deep the exam will test the crypto concepts? I'm asking that because I know that I do not have a high-level understanding of the mathematical concepts such as discrete mathematics, probability, complex algorithms and so on.

( i have decided to jump over CompTIA Sec+ because i used Darril Gibsons practice test book and i feel that I'm doing well and the SANS Security Essentials Assessment shows me 3 stars in each of the 3 sections with a 69% score. I will self finance all this SANS course journey and I want to assure me that this is right for me and I'm ready for it.)