Options

Need Help Deciding (Poor Forensic Guy)

VesaliusVesalius Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
So, I'm new to the forensic world, and after some good experience extracting data off of cellphones, HDD's, and etc.
I thought it's time to treat my self with getting some certified certificates.

So, cut a long story short, I've done my research, made an account on this amazing website, did some reading on the GIAC website, and I think nothing beats the Global Information Assurance Certification and so I'm going to start of by throwing questions at you experts out there to help me out on which direction to take.

I've obviously looked at there Forensics section on the website [HTML]http://www.giac.org/certifications/forensics[/HTML]
but only to find categories that were totally un-related to what I do and there ordering of the subjects being really weird, EXCEPT for the ONE.

The GASF: GIAC Advanced Smartphone Forensics

After some reading I found that this is the only field that is related to my current job and work, and this would be the most appropriate course to take immediately.

After reading about the courses above that, such as the (GCFA, GCFE, GREM, GNFA) I was just wondering if any of those are Required prior to taking the GASF, or if not required, required so as to be ABLE personally to take the GASF and successfully pass or to look good on my Resume?

I want to know why the GCFA and GCFE would be necessary to learn prior to the GASF, or even the GREM or GNFA since the GNFA is looking towards a Network Engineers or Technicians perspective Not a Digital Forensics Examiners one, and the GREM being a Network Admin's job?

I'm concerned about this since the GIAC website has ordered these subjects from top to bottom. So if I take a GASF, it would not be anything related to the others?

Also could someone tell me the difference between a GCFA and GCFE, and how one examines and how the other analyzes, like an example would be great, since they both analyze windows?