Options

My boss not promoting me

egrizzlyegrizzly Member Posts: 533 ■■■■■□□□□□
...I'm actually 50-50 on how to recify my current situation. I had lost my job then got into a helpdesk position while certified as a CCNP.

I've been there for a year now however when I ask to be put in the network infrastructure team my boss says I need more networking experience. True, all I have is 10 years of helpdesk /call center experience but how else do you get networking experience on routerse if they don't give you a chance? Well most people here say I should not be working at the helpdesk but it's because I asked many times but my boss will not promote me. Is there something specific I should be doing or saying to get the promotion?

** note that my boss has no college and just an A+ certain with a 2yrs of management experience.
B.Sc (Info. Systems), CISSP, CCNA, CCNP, Security+

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Did you make a similar thread on this recently? I just remember this sounding familiar...

Anyway, with a CCNP and CCIE-W, I'd just bounce and go somewhere else. If he doesn't want you on their network team and you've invested all of that time into studying and labbing then there probably isn't much more you can do to convince him. Look for a NOC job or a junior network admin position.
  • Options
    danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I concur, it's time to find a position with another company, don't waste your time with people who do not see value in you.
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • Options
    docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Agree. Find a place that will give you a chance. 10 years is a long time to be in helpdesk.
    Hopefully-useful stuff I've written: http://kimiushida.com/bitsandpieces/articles/
  • Options
    MowMow Member Posts: 445 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Look for a Cisco Partner. You have an IE in Wireless? Look for a job with Cisco.
  • Options