Options

Fresh CCNA with lots of Mac experience. Next move?

drewbert87drewbert87 Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey Guys,

I just passed my CCNA today and I'm considering several options for my next step. I'd really value some thoughtful opinions on these!

A little background, I do not have any college education. I am a manager in an independent Apple repair shop. I've worked there for 8 years and I'm 29 years old. I was a tech for most of 6 years and then was assistant manager for about 6 months and have been manager for just over a year.

There is little to no networking beyond restarting peoples routers over the phone in my current job. I am not sure I want to move on from this job yet for various reasons, including personal ones, but I do want my next job to be a heavily network focused role if not entirely.

I really enjoyed CCNA R&S studies, particularly OSPF, EIGRP, and switching technologies, thought I'm considering trying out voice and security tracks as well.

There is a local military base that contracts with many third party companies which are constantly hiring for networking jobs. They often request or require the Security+ exam (even though the CCNA security technically meets the same qualification, none of the postings mention it). There is also a local university and a couple of community colleges that may value my Mac experience quite a bit higher than others.

All that said, here are the things I'm considering:

Study for the security+ (In hopes of getting in at the military base)

Study for the CCNP routing and switching

Study for the CCNA Security (Branch out a bit rather than going deeper, hopefully base employers will count this the same as security+ but no promises)

Study for the CCNA Voice (because demand)

Also sort of separately, whether to search for a networking role right away, even if it means a step down in pay?