Options

How Deep Should You Go?

ChristopherPaulChristopherPaul Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
If you're doing IT Strategy and Management, or Director of Technology, how deep into a field should you go? I was planning to do some basic certs, such as ITIL Foundations, CompTia IT Fundamentals, CompTia Cloud Essentials - I was also planning to do CAPM and PMP. Should a Manager dive deeper into fields such as networking and security? Just curious what everyone's opinion is.

The problem I see is small companies are hiring IT Managers - where your job is to develop a system, plan, strategy, AND networking computers together AND service computers (help desk), AND manage the security of the system, etc. I mean I guess they have people come to network and service computers but have some one in charge of it all or at least the last office I worked it did, he more or less did onboarding, help desk, and managed the systems, printers, recommending a strategic plan, etc.

I'm currently studying Business - Information Technology Management, classes start at WGU on Thursday. They do not offer certs and according to my mentor DO NOT give credit for certs...

FYI - I'm not just asking this to be a cert hoarder. I really want to better myself in my future career.

Thank you everybody!

Comments

• Options
    EnderWigginEnderWiggin Member Posts: 551 ■■■■□□□□□□
    A manager doesn't necessarily need to know how to do the tasks, bur they need to understand what the tasks are, and what they are accomplishing. What those tasks are will differ from position to position, so there's no "one size fits all" answer here.
  • Options
    Cyberscum wrote: »
    Depends really. Maybe ask her first.

Haha. I just realized the title sounds like that...whoops.

I plan to get my PMP...but to get a help desk position most want a A+, Network+, Security+ cert or some of that...
  • Options
    beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□