Options

Have an unrelated degree + some experience - advice please?

MTE20112MTE20112 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, I just joined and I hope you can give me some advice.

I graduated college over a year ago - not something directly related to IT but I do have some experience. My degree is BA in "Design and Technology" - where it was mainly focused on the Entertainment industry. I got experience setting up networks for large scale concerts, live events; working with all types of A/V equipment, and computers. I also worked for two years at the Help Desk at my university (not working for financial aid, I was just like the rest of their staff, but worked after my classes full time). I've also had one internship that was slightly more Entertainment technology related - but I did lots of PC and Mac troubleshooting, setting up A/V equipment, assisting with account resets, settings up new computers/printers/phones. So - I have some experience but my degree is not in IT. I currently, for over a year, have worked for a large theme park company in Florida, working with equipment and technical support, assisting a team with their computer needs, A/V set up, lighting and sound equipment repair and troubleshooting, etc. I absolutely love helping others and would love to work at a help desk again. I would like to move back home to New Jersey and pursue a help desk position there. I am more than fine with entry level, but I am afraid that my "weird" degree with not even get me an interview. It has not been a problem so far because all (besides the university help desk) has been associated with technology that is related mostly to the ENTERTAINMENT side of things - but at the end of the day, that equipment is mostly the same. Looking for any and all advice. I'm currently looking to get some Microsoft certs and well as A+ or anything else, since I believe it might help me get an interview.