Frustrated and moving into a new direction

mgmguy1mgmguy1 Member Posts: 485 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm stuck in a job I am not happy at. I'm well respected at my job, considered dependable and nobody gives me grief about call time metrics because everyone knows I work hard. All promotional opportunities at my company are in Florida and I don't want to move there .I have been on a series of job interviews over the past 2 months and I'm not getting anywhere. I'm applying for Junior NOC or Junior System Admin jobs and I keep not getting the position because I have zero experience in Active Directory, Microsoft SQL server or Windows 2012 or Firewalls. I have my CCENT and a nice home lab for Cisco certifications up to CCNP. After much discussion with my wife I have decided to go to a local community college and get my Microsoft MCSA. I start my first class in late September and am really looking forward to the experience. Once I have my MSCA in 2012 I will finish ICND 2 and have my full CCNA

Is anybody else running into this issue in there area of world. Employers looking for more System Admin guys vs Network guys ?
Your feedback is appreciated

mgmguy1
"A lot of fellows nowadays have a B.A., M.D., or Ph.D. Unfortunately, they don't have a J.O.B."

Fats Domino

Comments

• Kuvuli21Kuvuli21 Member Posts: 50 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I ended up becoming the entire IT department myself. Some companies would rather pay one guy a good salary and work the **** out of him. As opposed to others. It truly varies from person, to employer and company. Don't stress it. Keep progressing and you'll get what you want man. I'm doing MS cents too now. So I know how you feel.

Shoot me a PM if I can help in any way! Btw. I'd love a Florida job lol. I'm in Atlanta right now....traffic hell...
    Currently studying: 70-680 Windows 7: Configuring

2017-2018 goals: 70-685, Server 2012, CWNP, SSCP and/or CCNA.
  • TechytachTechytach Member Posts: 140