Options

Working IT for 8 years with no certifications or degrees, looking for insight.

jivex5kjivex5k Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
First of all I'd like to say thank you for taking the time to read this. I'd like to get some insight on possible career paths, and what certifications are worth the time and money to go after.

A little history:
I've been working in IT professionally for 8 years now, all at the same company. I started with PC building and repair, specifically deploying DVRs with both custom linux distributions and windows XP embedded. I did this for 2 years under supervision, when my supervisor left I took over. I took over the software imaging and made various improvements such as implementing a recovery partition and customizing windows further to suit our needs. 3 years later I began programming for the company as well. It is mostly javascript, lua, and C, with a lot of work on embedded systems. I developed programs for internal operations, so I don't have a public profile of my programming work.

That's pretty much where I'm at now, I never went to school for IT, I was just interested in it as a kid and started programming when I was 14 for fun. As such, when I'm looking at job listings I feel very unqualified due to not having a BS in computer science, or any certifications.

I'm looking into three possible fields to pursue certifications in and would like to know how realistic it is to expect employment with my experience but lack of professional qualifications.

Infosec - I'm looking at CEH and CISSP here. For CISSP it seems like I'd have to land a job before the certificate is in effect, being considered an associate in the meantime. For CEH I'd take their training and that would be that, but I don't believe a CEH combined with no IT experience focusing on security would land me a job.