Options

A+ Network+ Renewal necessary?

My coworkers don't have any certs and I have both. One of them in particular keeps arguing with me that I need to renew my certs. I explained to him that mines were taken before 2011 so I don't have to renew them. He thinks those certs are not good anymore.
What do you guys think?
"If you want to kick the tiger in his ass, you'd better have a plan for dealing with his teeth."

Comments

• Options
    soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm not a comptia expert. Sounds like your certs be for the CE version (continuing education). And therefore I think you have the A+ and Net+ certs instead of the A+ CE and Net+ CE versions.

I'm pretty sure your certs are in fact still valid, and if you were to take a higher level comptia cert (e.g., Sec+) now then that would convert your A+ and Net+ both to CE and then you would need to abide by the Comptia CE requirements of reporting CEUs/annual dues.

I think that's correct--someone with comptia knowledge please chime in.
    Certs: CISSP, CISA, PMP
  • Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Pull up your CompTIA transcript, it should indicate on there if you have lifetime or CE.

If you have lifetime, than you won't need to renew...HOWEVER, if you took your NET+ in the window of transition for CE, you may have triggered your A+ into a CE update mode.

You will need to contact CompTIA or check your transcript to understand what you hold.
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux

***I'll add you can Capitalize the word 'I' to show a little respect for yourself too.

'i' before 'e' except after 'c'.... weird?
  • Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■