Options

CCENT lab built, what now???

pujan96pujan96 Member Posts: 121 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey guys, Im studying for the CCENT exam and have built up my home lab, it consits of 2x 3560 switches, 2x routers(cant remember the model) and one terminal server. Im am progressing through the CCENT 101-105 press book and have just finished the chapter on troubleshooting ethernet lans and am just about to move on to subnetting. Whilst Ive been going through the chapters I have been applying the configurations I have been reading such as setting up SSH, Vlans, port security ect ect, how ever I feel I have hit a bit of a dead end. How do I actually set up my lab for troubleshooting scenarios? Is there any sort of blue prints I could use or someone could provide that I can set my lab up to replicate an actual enterprise setup? Any other infortmation on Lab setup for the CCENT would also help. Thanks Pujan
[X] CCNA R&S

[X] CCNP Route 300-101
[  ] CCNP Switch 300-115
[  ] CCNP T-Shoot 300-135

[  ]  NPDESI 300-550

[  ] CCIE R&S Written
[  ] CCIE R&S LAB

Comments

• Options
    v1ralv1ral Member Posts: 116 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Start practicing setting up vlans and figure out a way o hook up your lab to your actual home internet. Look up configurations for the CCNA since they're far more abundant than CCENT.
  • Options
    WastedHatWastedHat Member Posts: 132 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I was wondering the same when I started using my physical lab but I got by just by making own scenarios from the offical cert guide. Are you using the same book?

Now that you know how to make working configurations you could try making configurations that don't work and use 'show' commands to see how it reflects in the output. Or in some cases IOS won't even accept the input. Heres a few examples that might help..

Put devices in different vlans without layer 3 capabilities and see how they can't ping each other, look at the show vlans to get used to seeing which ports are mapped to what vlans.