Options

Should I go to a tech school or should I study the Mike Meyers exams?

php111php111 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey, should I go to a tech school in my area or should I buy and study the Mike Meyers exams for the A+ certificates and take the exams without going to a tech school?

So, which would be the best option between going to a tech school and do not bother with the videos? Or go for the videos and do not bother with the tech schools?

Comments

• Options
    tmtextmtex Member Posts: 326 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If money isn't an issue the school wont hurt but it's still a waste. Although I went to a class for all the pluses it was free to me plus I have a lot of experience. Myself and another experienced guy was in the class. I passed both right away, he didn't. It consisted of a guy reading a book to us while everyone played on the internet. If your totally new with no experience at all it might benefit you as you will have some labs. Lab example is putting memory in, replacing a power supply etc.. If you have a PC that you can take apart and access to youtube your all set.

Everyone says its a entry level test and easy. I didn't think so. In this class it was mainly ex military that never touched a PC other then using email. They were totally lost.

Example of a Question: XXXXXX pick the best 2 answers out of 4. 3 will work but what is the BEST 2. A lot of that
  • Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    There are different variables here. "Tech school" could mean anything. Do they want 10K to study for the A+? If so, that's just silly. Is it a local community college with a reasonably priced program and good labs and you don't have any experience? If so that might be worthwhile. Can you go to a properly accredited school for the same price? If so that's likely the better option as a degree won't expire in a few years.
  • Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod