Options

Looking to get back into Cisco-related studies - advice needed

sentimetalsentimetal Member Posts: 103
Hello TE!

In 2010 I started studying for my CCNA by via Cisco's Network Academy at a community college; my goal was to get an AAS in Network Technology, my CCNA, and then advance to a degree that transferred directly to a local University. I finished the academy with A+ grades, was prepping for my CCNA, and then I got a promotion at work (a completely different field from IT/networking). After 5 years of working in finance and even after taking classes towards an accounting degree, my desire to work within networking remains. A friend of mine in the Marines kind of rekindled my interest, as I helped him with subnetting and having discussions about different network-related topics. Now I really want to go back on that track. I do have some apprehensions and questions though:

Despite having gone through the network academy, pracitcing many CCNA prep exams, etc. I remember very little of what I learned 3-5 years ago. I remember certain IOS commands, certain networking rules, encapsulations, etc. but not nearly enough. Should I retake the NetAcad and go through a year's worth of network study to prep for my CCNA, or is there a way I can review this information? I'm learning towards retaking the network academy, as I am still employed and don't see the need to rush.

Subnetting. I was really good at it - I can even still do it (a little) but I am once again apprehensive about subnetting, despite being able to calculate networks in my head very easily.