Options

Entry level network jobs are scarce, but high paying net admin/engineer are abundant

NoNameNoobNoNameNoob Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
I studied for several months and managed to obtain my ccna r&s cert. I've been taking a look here and there for about 2 months now for entry level network jobs. Ive only seen 1, lv 1 noc job during this time. I can search now and literally see 40+ high paying network admin / network engineer jobs. It took me 9 months to get my first help desk job in IT, and always read the hardest part is getting in, but after that you'll be set. Will getting into a networking role turn into one of those situations? Thoughts? Thanks in adv.

Comments

• Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The reason the jobs pay so much is because they are hard to get.

CCNA is a good start but there are few places where a junior admin sits and configures switches all day. Most junior roles include network admin tasks in Windows or Linux. There are more entry-level sysadmin jobs than there are junior network jobs, I suspect that combining that CCNA with an MCSA will pay larger dividends.
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    A lot of places don't know what they want either.

Having IT experience is a good first step as is getting a CCNA. Where are you located? Are you opposed to relocating? What search terms are you using other than "NOC"?
  • Options
    NoNameNoobNoNameNoob Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
    EANx wrote: »
    The reason the jobs pay so much is because they are hard to get.

CCNA is a good start but there are few places where a junior admin sits and configures switches all day. Most junior roles include network admin tasks in Windows or Linux. There are more entry-level sysadmin jobs than there are junior network jobs, I suspect that combining that CCNA with an MCSA will pay larger dividends.