Options

Certification and highest paid salaries

ajmagicajmagic Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi there what field is more lucrative salary wise for an information security career. I am doing a master in Info sec and this is a question which will help me decide the modules I want to take. I do like the idea of pen testing and contract jobs seem to pay 500 upwards but what other fields in infosec pay more and what professional qualifications should I take after my Msc? I have 15 years in Desktop and network support experience but I am now taking a year out to move into Info Sec. Thanks

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Money is always good but don't let that blind you. Besides, there's extremely well paid peeps in every single Infosec field including blue/red team, GRC, sales, consulting, exec, etc. Find your passion and follow it.
  • Options
    Thanks for the reply but what certifications do you suggest after my MSc apart from the CEH and CISSP. Thanks
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Certs that look good on the resume are CEH & CISSP. CISM looks good for management, CISA looks good if you want to be an auditor. those are the only certs that will help your resume.

learning wise, EC-Council is rubbish. CISSP won't teach you much. ISACA is good for general bean-counters knowledge. SANS is good for technical real-world skillsets.
  • Options
    broli720broli720 Member Posts: 394 ■■■■□□□□□□
    And certifications won't net you the high salary. To be honest, only the value you add will. As @cyberguypr said, follow your passion and find where you can add the most value. The money will come soon after.
  • Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    Probably start with CISSP, you likely meet the experience requirements if you have 15 years in desktop and network. GIAC are good, although pricey, and are starting to get asked for more.