Options

My Path to become a Security Analyst

dhruvjaindhruvjain Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,
I am all confused and messed up for sometime regarding what should i do. I have a Bachelors Degree in Computer Science and did my eJPT. But for the past 1 year I have been working as a sharepoint developer and studied about security in between. Now i am planning to change my focus to become a security analyst and i see my path a bit unclear. There are too many certifications and too many reviews. My Plan as far as I think is Sec+ -> GSEC. After that i think, i can become an analyst. Am i good to go? And what certification can i do after it?

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• Options
    nopx90nopx90 Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    After you get your Sec+ start applying to entry level roles.

Best way to do GSEC is the work study route. Unless you have spare change.
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Look at open Security Analyst positions in your area and see what they are asking for. Specifically if you like a certain companies, look to see what they are looking for.
  • Options
    Madmd5Madmd5 Member Posts: 83 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You mentioned you completed your eJPT. Did you enjoy the material? Do you see Pen Testing as something to work towards? If so, you can focus your certs/knowledge towards that route. If you want to work in "general" IT security, Sec+, GSEC, SSCP may be worth looking into. It all really depends where in security you'd like to go.
  • Options
    KalabasterKalabaster Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□