Options

Security Job Offer (Help)

SynosisSynosis Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm a new graduate as of last December who has a lot of technical support experience. All of my jobs up until leaving college involved me being a repair tech or service desk. I finally found that I wanted to get into the security field with the dream of being in a SOC doing blue/red sort of things.

There are no entry level SOC jobs so I'm building experience in the security world to get there. I left my full time service desk job to be a Security analyst on contract. I do lots of IT risk analysis and starting to dive into application security reviews for auditing. I'm surrounded by brilliant people and can ask questions.

The trouble I'm having is that another company I applied for around the same time finally offered a job. Security administrator. From what I understand this is focused on the access control side. Active directory and setting permissions in other applications. This is full time and pays way more than what my contract will give me. The question is which one do you all think will get me in a SOC?

My current contract is more about analyzing, asking questions and determining risk and vulnerabilities then suggest how to remediate. The second is more technical and focused on a single domain. Building GPOs and supporting life cycle of user accounts. Awesome But I feel like I may not get into a SOC with just that one domain.

Suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    superbeastsuperbeast Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
    How long have you been doing contract work? If it's been a while, you could use that experience in conjunction with your new Sec Admin experience to jump into SOC.
  • Options