Options

Have you ever taken a job in an area you don't neccessarily have interest in?

inverse_oneinverse_one Member Posts: 38 ■■■□□□□□□□
Have any of you done a jump to a job that was in an area of IT you didn't have that much interest in, but could do?

Let me explain - I'm a JOAT type, but really only have an interest in networking and security. I want to start specializing in my interests, but due to job market etc, I felt the need to apply to things I don't really have a high interest in, but could do the job (Due to monetary reasons). Because of all my systems work with customers in my current job as a technical support engineer, I'm considering a systems engineer job.

Additionally, I still like going home at the end of the day, as a technical support engineer, not having to deal with systems after hours or maintaining them, but obviously am not starting to overlook that for money. So maybe I'm thinking of getting a senior technically support role somewhere. Maybe someone knows of similar roles I should target.

Appreciate any feedback or advice you guys have.

Comments

• Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    JOAT (jack of all trades)? Yes, I have done several jumps in my career. I have learned a lot doing that.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Options
    inverse_oneinverse_one Member Posts: 38 ■■■□□□□□□□
    So my concern is, will I start "pidgin holing" my career by getting a systems engineer job and want to go into security or networking later?
  • Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Pigeon holing? You might, but you could also set up a lab at home that you can practice security or networking to gain more experience. Don't stress about the unknowns. Life is hard enough.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Options
    blatiniblatini Member Posts: 285