Options

Anyone work in access management?

zxcvbnm2zxcvbnm2 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have an upcoming interview for an entry-level access management role within a large organization. I am very new to IT (no professional experience) but I have worked in roles that required customer service and learning various software systems/ Excel. I feel extremely unqualified for this job and was hoping anyone who has experience in this area can provide some insight on what to expect?

Comments

• Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I would guess you would be setting up and making to changes to accounts all day. Whether that be in Active Directory or in their Applications. Definitely feel anyone could do these kind of roles, very remedial work and not technical. Being a large org I would guess you would be pretty much following a set of steps to setup accounts. But than again, I'm just guessing.
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    My guess is the same as networknewb. Do you have a job description to go off of?
  • Options
    Node ManNode Man Member Posts: 668 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Sounds like resetting folks passwords. Also sounds like a doorway into IT icon_smile.gif
  • Options
    amicmanzoamicmanzo Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Node Man wrote: »
    Sounds like resetting folks passwords. Also sounds like a doorway into IT icon_smile.gif

I kind of agree. Access Management just sounds fancy for trouble call ticket responder for locked out accounts
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Access management for me means administering share permissions, maybe user accounts. If that's the case, you can do some reconnaissance via youtube re: share & ntfs permissions:

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=share+permissions
  • Options
    zxcvbnm2zxcvbnm2 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□